Students stand together

Brenau recognizes student and faculty achievements

A student smiles.During the Honors Convocation in April and spring commencement in May, some of the highest honors offered at Brenau University were given to students and faculty in recognition of their hard work and dedication.

The student awards included the Baxter-Bryan Scholarship, presented to rising senior Kendy Manzano, fashion design major from Adairsville, Georgia; the Sidney O. Smith Scholarship, awarded to Cierra Franklin, mass communications major from Albany, Georgia; the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award, presented to Lauren Hill, acting major from Flowery Branch, Georgia; and the Cora Anderson Hill Academic Award, given to Susan De Witt, dance major from Cumming, Georgia, Kellsey Kloker, health science major from Lawrenceville, Georgia, and Allie McConnell, health science major from Cumming, Georgia, who all tied for the highest grade-point average throughout their four years at Brenau.

Additionally, several faculty members received awards, including Jessi Shrout, assistant professor of biology, who received the Ann Austin Johnston Award for outstanding teaching, and Kim Boyd, associate professor and head of research and instructional services, who was awarded the Vulcan Teaching Award for teaching excellence and leadership.

You must be logged in to post a comment.